Former Briarwood HC Fred Yancey headlines 2020 Hall of Fame class

Birmingham, AL – One season removed from roaming the Lion’s Pride Stadium sidelines, former Briarwood Christian head football coach Fred Yancey will be inshrined in the Alabama High School Sports Hall of Fame.

Over 29 years at the helm of the Shelby County program the Memphis, TN native lead the Lions to 26 consecutive postseason appearances, 16 region crowns, six Super 7 appearances and state titles in 1998, 1999 and 2003.

15 of Yancey’s 29 teams posted at least 10 wins in a season in route to a 278-95 overall record. In addition to multiple Shelby County Coach of the Year honors he was named the Alabama Sports Writers Association 5A coach of the year twice and garnered a pair of Bob Finley Awards. He is currently ranked 11th in victories, all-time, among Alabama high school football coaches.

Yancey announced his retirement following the 2018 football season, handing the reigns of the Lion’s program to former player and longtime Briarwood assistant Matthew Forester.

The complete 2020 Hall of Fame class includes:

  • Former Jess Lanier head football coach Carroll Cox
  • Former Grissom wrestling coach Joseph Dasaro
  • Former Hazelwood track coach Aaron Goode
  • Former Vestavia Hills soccer coach Rick Grammer
  • Marengo Co. Superintendent & official Luke Hallmark
  • Former Piedmont head basketball coach Tommy Lewis
  • Former Alexander City head football coach Hamp Lyon
  • St. Paul’s Episcopal head football coach and Athletic Director Steve Mask
  • Former Clay-Chalkville & Oak Mtn. head football coach Toney Pugh
  • Former Carver-Montgomery head women’s basketball coach Yvonne Michelle Simmons
  • Former Falkville track coach & Athletic Director Keith Wilemon

The 2020 Alabama High School Sports Hall of Fame induction banquet is scheduled for March, 16th at Montgomery’s Renaissance Hotel and Convention Center.