Alabama and Mississippi All-Stars are getting their game face on as final practice concludes

Montgomery, AL – The Alabama and Mississippi All-Star football squads each completed their sixth and final practice Friday morning and Alabama All-Star head coach Steve Mask said his team “has had a lot of fun and made a lot of new friends, but they are competitive. They are getting their games faces on.”

He admits he expects the Mississippi squad to be doing the same.

“Our goal is always to come down here and have fun, help our kids enjoy themselves and give them a chance to play with the best our state has to offer,” he said. “But at the end of the day, we came down here to win a football game too.”

The pressure is on Alabama’s All-Stars despite its 22-11 record in the series that began almost four decades ago at Mobile’s Ladd-Peebles Stadium. Mississippi comes in riding a three-game winning streak, including the visitors’ first-ever win at Cramton Bowl in 2018. Mississippi won 17-16 in overtime last year at Hattiesburg.

The 34th annual Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Classic will kickoff off Saturday afternoon at noon at Montgomery’s Cramton Bowl.  The game is sponsored by the AHSAA and its coaching wing, the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association (AHSADCA), in conjunction with the Mississippi Association of Coaches (MAC).

This year’s game will be televised live by the rapidly growing AHSAA TV Network, which is managed by WOTM TV.

“We had a light practice (Friday morning),” said Mask. “We did our walk-through, went over our special teams lineup and gave the kids a chance to relax the rest of the afternoon. I hope to catch a nap myself if I can.”

Cramton Bowl | Montgomery, AL

Alabama’s offense features a strong receiving corps and big, fast running backs. The offensive line, said Mask, “is huge.”  Defensively, he says it is obvious the talent is abundant. “Our defensive front has stood out all week.”

Among the defensive linemen are 6-foot-5, 250-pound defensive end Dylan Brooks of Handley, a Tennessee commit who had an outstanding season as the Tigers rolled to the Class 4A state championship. Tennessee Coach Jeremy Pruitt, who grew up in Rainsville and attended Plainview High School, has two commits on the Alabama 40-man squad. The other is talented wide receiver Roc Taylor of Oxford.

The linebackers on the Alabama squad are also big and fast with Alabama commits Deontae Lawson of Mobile Christian and Ian Jackson of Prattville each standing 6-3 and close to 220 pounds. Ramsay’s Jeremiah Williams, 6-4, 230, has committed to Florida, Josh Rudolph of Park Crossing, 6-1, 225, is still uncommitted.

Several outstanding quarterbacks have represented Alabama and Mississippi in the all-star game through the years, but the speed in the secondary has limited both teams to only one TD pass 80 yards or longer. Mississippi’s Richard Lucas completed an 80-yard TD pass to Moine Nicholson of Louisville in Mississippi’s 24-10 win in 1994.  Alabama’s longest pass play came in the 1990 game when Steve Christopher of Anniston connected with his Bulldogs teammate Orlando Watters for a 61-yard TD.

TICKETS: $12.00 through GOFAN and are now available for purchase at the following link:

ALABAMA-MISSISSIPPI GAME ON TV: In Alabama, viewers will be able to pick up the game live over the AHSAA TV Network of cable affiliates put together by WOTM TV. The game will also be live-streamed over the NFHS Network. The cable affiliate list is available at:   The NFHS Network link for the contest is: 

Mississippi plans to produce its own live-stream as well over its MAC Network.  

ALABAMA-MISSISSIPPI GAME ON RADIO: The Alabama Radio Network will broadcast the game live over its group of affiliate as well. The broadcast can be accessed via the internet at the following link:


Series record: Alabama 22 wins; Mississippi 11.


2019:  Mississippi 17, Alabama 16 (OT)         
2018:  Mississippi 24, Alabama 20                 
2017:  Mississippi 42, Alabama 7                    
2016:  Alabama 25, Mississippi 14                  
2015:  Mississippi 28, Alabama 21                 
  Alabama 36, Mississippi 30                 
2013:  Alabama 21, Mississippi 17                 
2012:  Alabama 21, Mississippi 16                
2011:  Alabama 31, Mississippi 12                 
2010: Alabama 24, Mississippi 17 (2  OT)      
2009: Alabama 21, Mississippi 13                  
2008: Alabama 28, Mississippi 3                    
2007 (Dec.): Mississippi 26, Alabama 7        
2007 (June): Alabama 51, Mississippi 14       
2006: Alabama 24, Mississippi 3                    
2005: Mississippi 21, Alabama  18                
2004: Alabama 24, Mississippi 22                
2003: Alabama 24, Mississippi 16                
2002: Alabama 29, Mississippi 17              
2001: Alabama 33, Mississippi 14                 
2000: Alabama 16, Mississippi 9                 
1999: Alabama 28, Mississippi 24               
1998: Mississippi 9, Alabama 0                    
1997: Alabama 10, Mississippi 6                  
1996: Alabama 17, Mississippi 14                 
1995: Mississippi 37, Alabama  9                  
1994: Mississippi 24, Alabama 10             
1993: Mississippi 17, Alabama  6                
1992: Mississippi 17, Alabama 14                
1991: Alabama 15, Mississippi 13              
1990: Alabama 21, Mississippi 14 (OT)                   
1989: Alabama 24, Mississippi 21 (4 OT)         
1988: Alabama 24, Mississippi 21 (3 OT)