Roster and Staff announced for the 36th Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Football Classic

Montgomery, AL – The Alabama All-Star football team comprised of 40 high school seniors for the upcoming 36th annual Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Classic football game has been completed, announced Brandon Dean, Director of the Alabama High School Athletic Directors, and Coaches Association (AHSADCA), Wednesday. The 36th annual game is scheduled to be played Saturday, December 10 in Mobile at the University of South Alabama’s Hancock Whitney Stadium.

The AHSACDA All-Star Selection Committee selected the players from nominations submitted by member school coaches at a meeting last week at the AHSAA Office in Montgomery.

“We would like to thank the selection committee for doing their due diligence in picking this year’s team,” said AHSADCA Director Brandon Dean. “Picking from such a deep talent pool was not an easy task. We believe this is an extraordinarily talented and high character group of student-athletes who will be outstanding representatives of their schools and communities. We look forward to competing against Mississippi in Mobile this December, on the campus of the University of South Alabama.”

Dean praised the member schools, especially the schools and head football coaches, for their nominations, and the selection committee for their tireless efforts over the last several months. “We thank our member schools for their continued support of this annual contest.” he said.

Head coach for Alabama’s All-Stars is Keith Etheredge of Auburn High School. The squad includes 16 players who have already committed play collegiately at an SEC school. Twenty-four of the 40 players have committed to Power 5 schools, and 11 are still uncommitted.

Of the all-stars already committed, four have made verbal commitments to the University of Alabama, and three are heading to Auburn University including running back Jeremiah Cobb of Montgomery Catholic; offensive lineman Bradyn Joiner of Auburn; and defensive back Jacorius Hart of Loachapoka. Crimson Tide commitments include Florence defensive back Jahlil Hurley; Eufaula linebacker Yonzi Pierre; Hewitt-Trussville defensive lineman Hunter Osborn; Northridge offensive lineman Wilkin Formby; and Anniston offensive lineman Ryqueze McElderry.

Cobb, who is on pace to rush for more than 2,000 yards for the third straight season, has led the Knights (8-0) to an undefeated season with 1,180 yards and 19 TDs on just 88 carries. His 13.7 yards per carry currently leads the state. He also has nine catches for 174 yards and four scores. Heading into this week’s game versus unbeaten Andalusia, (8-0) which will decide the Class 4A, Region 2 championship, Cobb has 5,731 career rushing yards, 71 rushing touchdowns, 46 receptions for an additional 989 yards and 14 TDS. His career all-purpose yardage is 6,820 yards and 86 touchdowns.

A total of six SEC schools have at least one verbal commitment on the Alabama All-Star roster with Tennessee listing defensive backs Rickey Gibson of Hewitt-Trussville and Sylvester Smith of Munford. Other SEC commitments on the Alabama squad include wide receiver Davion Dozier (Arkansas) of Moody; Pinson Valley defensive back T.J. Metcalf (Arkansas); DB Dallas Young  (Arkansas) and defensive lineman Kelby Collins (Florida) of Gardendale; offensive lineman Koby Keenum (Kentucky) of Mars Hill Bible and running back Khalifa Keith (Kentucky) of Parker.

Quarterbacks selected are Tuscaloosa County’s Ethan Crawford (Southern Miss); Briarwood Christian’s Christopher Vizzina (Clemson); and Hueytown’s Earl Woods (Jacksonville State).
Clemson also has a commitment from Thompson defensive end Peter Woods, Michigan State has a commitment from the Warriors’ offensive lineman Stanton Ramil; and Selma linebacker Dakaari Nelson has committed to Penn State.

Etheredge has also announced his all-star coaching staff. His offensive coordinator is Drew Gilmer of Clay-Chalkville, and defensive coordinator is Lee Ozmit of Arab. Others named to the staff include John McKenzie, Murphy (running backs); Patrick Browning, Greenville (wide receivers); Pat Thompson, Sweet Water (linebackers); Scott Basden, Muscle Shoals (defensive line); Stacy Luker, Clarke County (offensive line); Will Wagnon, Auburn (scout coach); and administrative coaches Billy Odom, Randy White, and Ken Wright.

Alabama beat Mississippi last December in Hattiesburg (MS) 20-0. The series began in 1988 with Alabama winning in a three overtime contest 24-21.  The 35th game improved Alabama’s record in 24-11 overall. Mississippi has won all three games played in Mississippi (2015, 2017 and 2019). Alabama has a 23-8 edge in all games played in Alabama.

Alabama All-Star Football Team Roster:

First Name Last Name School Ht Wt Position Coach
Rickey Gibson Hewitt-Trussville 6’0 175 DB Josh Floyd
Jacorius Hart Loachapoka 6’3 180 DB Frederick Newton
Jahlil Hurley Florence 6’3 175 DB Kenny Morson
TJ Metcalf Pinson Valley 6’1 185 DB Lee Guess
Sylvester Smith Munford 6’0 190 DB Michael Easley
Dallas Young Gardendale 6’1 190 DB Chad Eads
Seth Hampton Thompson 6’0 197 DE/LB Mark Freeman
Dakaari Nelson Selma 6′ 3 196 DE/LB Willie Gandy
Karmelo Overton Carroll 6’1 215 DE/LB Patrick Plott
Yonzi Pierre Eufaula 6’4 230 DE/LB Jerrel Jernigan
Jaquavious Russaw Carver-Montgomery 6’3 230 DE/LB Marcus Gardner
Kelby Collins Gardendale 6’5 265 DL Chad Eads
Keldric Faulk Highland Home 6’6 260 DL Will Pouncey
Jyheam Ingram Muscle Shoals 6’1 270 DL Scott Basden
Hunter Osborne Hewitt-Trussville 6’4 265 DL Josh Floyd
James Smith Carver 6’4 308 DL Marcus Gardner
Peter Woods Thompson 6’3 270 DL Mark Freeman
Peyton Argent Hoover 6’1 180 K/P Wade Waldrop
Bentley Basden Muscle Shoals 6’1 175 LS Scott Basden
Avery Ferris Auburn 6’3 280 OL Keith Etheredge
Wilkin Formby Northridge 6’8 310 OL Ryan Lolley
Bradyn Joiner Auburn 6’3 312 OL Keith Etheredge
Koby Keenum Mars Hill Bible 6’4 305 OL Darrell Higgins
Vysen Lang Pike Road 6’6 330 OL Edward Rigby
Ryqueze McElderry Anniston 6’4 330 OL Rico White
Stanton Ramil Thompson 6’7 315 OL Mark Freeman
Maddox Sunderman Bob Jones 6’3 300 OL Kelvis White
Collin Dunn Hillcrest, Tuscaloosa 6’2 195 OLB Jamie Mitchell
Ethan Crawford Hillcrest, Tuscaloosa 6’0 215 QB Jamie Mitchell
Christopher Vizzina Briarwood Christian 6’4 210 QB Matthew Forester
Earl Woods Hueytown 5’10 170 QB Greg Patterson
Jeremiah Cobb Montgomery Catholic 6’0 190 RB Kirk Johnson
Khalifa Keith A.H. Parker 6’0 223 RB Frank Warren
Drew Pickett Russell County 5’11 185 RB Dillon Griggs
Carter Kelley Mountain Brook 6’4 220 TE Chris Yeager
Davion Dozier Moody 6’5 195 WR Jake Ganus
Braylyn Farrington Calera 5’8 160 WR Jason Hamlin
Harrison Knight Foley 6’1 185 WR Deric Scott
Kameran Shanks Prattville 5’9 171 WR Jason Wallace, Sr.
Amare Thomas Pinson Valley 6’0 200 WR Lee Guess

Alabama All-Star Team Coaching Staff:

Keith Etheredge Auburn Head Coach  
Drew Gilmer Clay-Chalkville Offensive Coordinator/QBs  
John McKenzie Murphy Running Backs Coach  
Patrick Browning Greenville Wide Receivers Coach  
Lee Ozmint Arab Defensive Coordinator  
Pat Thompson Sweet Water Linebackers Coach  
Scott Basden Muscle Shoals Defensive Line Coach  
Stacy Luker Clarke County Offensive Line Coach  
Will Wagnon Auburn Scout Coach  
Billy Odom   Administrative Coach  
Randy White   Administrative Coach  
Ken Wright   Administrative Coach