Thompson’s Ryan Peppins named 2021 Mr. Football

Montgomery, AL – Standout Thompson receiver Ryan Peppins was named 2021 Mr. Football by the Alabama Sports Writers Association (ASWA) at the organization’s annual Player of the Year banquet Thursday afternoon in Montgomery.  

The University of Utah signee became the first player in Thompson High School history to bring home the coveted award.  

Peppins hauled in 80 receptions for 1,379 yards and 23 touchdowns in route to the Warriors’ third consecutive AHSAA Class 7A state title in 2021. He closed out his prep career with with 2,755 yards on 172 receptions and 43 scores.  The 5-foot-8, 153 pound receiver was also honored as the Class 7A Back of the Year becoming the fifth straight Thompson standout to win the award. 

Thompson teammate and Alabama signee Jeremiah Alexander secured the 2021 Class 7A Lineman of the Year award for the second year in a row.  He capped his senior season with 10 sacks, 29 tackles for loss and 93 total stops.  

Peppins and Alexander were joined by Thompson quarterback Conner Harrell, a University of North Carolina commit, on the ASWA Super All-State team. 

Other players honored on Thursday include:

2021 Back of the Year
Class 6A | Earl Woods, Hueytown
Class 5A | DeMarcus Lacey, Pleasant Grove
Class 4A | Walter Taylor III, Jackson
Class 3A | Jack Hayes, Piedmont
Class 2A | Logan Washburn, Cleveland
Class 1A | Brayden Kyle, Decatur Heritage
AISA | Landon Sims, Escambia Academy

2021 Lineman of the Year
6A | Trevon McAlpine, Saraland
5A | Khurtiss Perry, Pike Road
4A | Michael Tower, Vigor
3A | T.J. Dudley, Montgomery Catholic
2A | Caden Story, Lanett
1A | Kendrick Brown, Brantley
AISA | Kross Colley, Chambers Academy

2021 Super All-State Team
Earl Woods (Hueytown), Khurtiss Perry (Pike Road), Will Stokes (Madison Academy), Emmanuel Henderson (Geneva County), Jack Hayes (Piedmont), Khalib Johnson (Clay-Chalkville), T.J. Dudley (Montgomery Catholic), Justice Finkley (Hewitt-Trussville)