2022 AHSAA North-South All-Star Baseball Teams Announced

Montgomery, AL – The Baseball All-Star Teams have been selected for the 2022 AHSAA North-South All-Star Sports Week, announced Brandon Dean, Director of the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association (AHSADCA).

The teams comprised of 2023 rising seniors were chosen by a special coaches committee from nominations received from AHSAA member school coaches.

“This is an outstanding group of baseball standouts and coaches from our member schools,” said Dean. “We are proud to announce these teams and look forward to watching them in the All-Star competition set for the All-Star Sports Week this summer.”

The AHSADCA, which operates under the auspices of the Alabama High School Athletic Association (AHSAA), also hosts annually North-South all-star games in softball, volleyball, boys’ and girls’ soccer, boys’ and girls’ basketball, cross country, tennis and golf during the All-Star Week. The annual North-South All-Star football game is now played in Mobile each December following the conclusion of the football season.

The AHSAA Summer Conference, annually attended by more than 4,000 coaches and administrators, will be held in Montgomery this summer.

The North-South All-Star baseball coaches include: (North) Matt Deerman, Piedmont: Adam Keenum, Boaz; and Keith Lucky, Saint James (administrative coach); (South) Jarrod Cook, Trinity Presbyterian; Patrick Street, Dale County; , Smiths Station; and Ken Whittle, Trinity Presbyterian retired (administrative coach).

Deerman and Cook’s squads won’t be strangers in opposing dugouts. The two teams met in the 2022 Class 3A State Baseball Championship Series with the championship being decided in Game 3 in what was one of the most exciting baseball finals in AHSAA history.

Highlighting the baseball rosters are eight players who participated in the 2022 State Baseball Championships in 2022.

On the South squad are third baseman John Malone and infielder/pitcher Streed Crooms of Class 1A state champion Bayshore Christian. Crooms earned MVP honors in the Class 1A series won by the Eagles (29-5) in two games over Lindsay Lane Christian. G.W. Long’s Brant Brady, also an infielder, helped the Rebels (34-8) capture their 17th state title overall – an AHSAA record – this past season. Long met Decatur Heritage in the 2A final series. Shortstop Sam Silas helped the Bulldogs (36-6) reach the Class 5A state finals in 2022. Holtville pushed defending champion Russellville to three games, thanks in big part to Silas’ play.
Among the 18 players selected to the North All-Star squad are outfielder Jackson Ollis of Class 7A state runner-up Hewitt-Trussville (31-6-1), outfielder Coleman Mizell of Class 6A state champion Hartselle (38-4), catcher Aaron Hayes of 3A runner-up Piedmont (37-7) and pitcher Ray Anderson of Lindsay Lane Christian (28-8).

The South All-Stars won game 1 in the 2021 North-South Series 7-6 but the second game ended in a 3-3 tie. The North leads the series 23-15-2 heading into the 2022 competition. The series was first played in 1997.

Player School Pos. Ht.
Ray Anderson Lindsay Lane P 6’2
John Buening Sparkman C 5’10
Tucker Cagle Cullman OF 6’2
Aaron Hayes Piedmont C 6’0
Kaden Heatherly Chelsea RHP 6’5
Konner Keplinger Mortimer Jordan P 6’0
Samuel Mitchell Bob Jones P 6’6
Coleman Mizell Hartselle OF 6’3
Jackson Ollis Hewitt-Trussville OF 5’9
Sam Patrick Oneonta 2B 6′ 0
Samuel Robertson Oxford SS 6’1
Carter Sheehan Shelby County SS 5’10
Trenton Shirley Tuscaloosa County IF 6’0
Jeremiah Struggs A. H. Parker 3B 5’7
William Walburn Vestavia Hills C 5’10
Peyton Watts Oxford SS 5’11
Hugh Windle Westbrook Christian SS 5’11
Gabe Young Mountain Brook OF 5’11
Matt Deerman Piedmont    
Adam Keenum Boaz    
Keith Lucky Saint James (Administrative)  
Player School Pos. Ht.
Cole Blaylock UMS-Wright OF 6″0
Brant Brady G. W. Long 3B 6’1
William Brock Fairhope C 6’0
Ty Brooks Wetumpka SS 5’8
Connor Cosby Auburn OF 6’0
Streed Crooms Bayshore Christian 3B 5’7
Bryson Goff Saraland P 6’4
Joshua Gunther Bayside Academy P 5’10
Drew Jolley Prattville IF 6’0
John Malone Bayshore Christian 3B 6’1
Cannon Miller Chilton County C 5’10
Harrison Mims Providence Christian LHP 5’10
Jaxon Shineflew Wetumpka P 6’1
Andrew Shiver Enterprise LF 6’0
Clint Shores Saint James OF 5’10
Sam Silas Holtville SS 6’0″
Zach Stevens Stanhope Elmore SS 5’11
Olin Ward UMS-Wright 3B na
Jarrod Cook Trinity Presbyterian    
Patrick Street Dale County    
Ken Whittle Trinity Presbyterian (Administrative)