35th Annual Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Classic Roster Announced

Montgomery, AL – The Alabama All-Star football team, comprised of 40 high school seniors for the upcoming Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Classic football game has been completed, Brandon Dean, Director of the Alabama High School Athletic Directors and Coaches Association (AHSADCA), announced Wednesday.  The 35th annual showdown is scheduled to be played at Carlisle Faulkner Field / M.M. Roberts Stadium in Hattiesburg (MS) on the campus of the University of Southern Mississippi Saturday, December 11.

The AHSACDA All-Star Selection Committee selected players from nominations submitted by member school coaches at a meeting Oct. 13 held at the AHSAA Office.

“We are thankful to the selection committee for their efforts in selecting this year’s group,” said Dean. “They went to great lengths to make sure each AHSAA class and district is represented in the selections.  We believe we have assembled a group of student-athletes who will be outstanding representatives for their respective schools, communities, and the AHSAA. We look forward to traveling to Hattiesburg and putting forth our best effort.”

Dean said the selection process didn’t just start on Wednesday. He praised the member schools, especially the head football coaches, for their nominations and the selection committee for their tireless efforts over the last several months.

“We thank our member schools for their continued support of this annual contest.” He added.

The squad includes 15 players who have already committed to a total of seven SEC schools, five others have pledged to power five conference schools and 12 seniors are currently uncommitted – several of them deciding from a number of major college programs.

Of the all-stars already committed, four are heading to Auburn and four who are planning to attend The University of Alabama. The Crimson Tide commitments include running back Emmanuel Henderson of Geneva County, linebacker Jeremiah Alexander of Thompson, linebacker Robert Woodyard of Williamson, and receiver Kobe Prentice of Calera. The Tigers’ commitments on the All-Star roster include linebacker Powell Gordon and offensive lineman Drew Bobo of Auburn High School, defensive lineman/tight end Caden Story of Lanett, place-kicker Alex McPherson of Fort Payne and wide receiver Omari Kelly of Hewitt-Trussville.

Faith Academy defensive end Shemar James has committed to Florida, Oxford defensive back Miguel Mitchell has chosen Vanderbilt, Opelika defensive back Jarell Stinson has selected Ole Miss, Montgomery Catholic defensive back Jourdan Thomas and St. Paul’s Episcopal offensive lineman Lucas Taylor are heading to Mississippi State.

The quarterbacks chosen for the squad are Thompson senior Conner Harrell (North Carolina) and Hoover senior Bennett Meredith (uncommitted). Both are scheduled to square off Oct. 23 when the defending Class 7A state champion Warriors (8-0) and Bucs (8-0) face-off at the Hoover Met with the Region 3 title weighing in the balance. Thompson faces Oak Mountain (6-1), which is 4-1 in the region, this week, Hoover travels to Tuscaloosa County.

Adrian Abrams of Minor High School was named last May as head coach of the Alabama All-Star squad. His coaching staff, which was announced in June, include: Sam Adams, Oxford High School; Aryvia Holmes, McAdory High School; Chad Eads, Gardendale High School; Travis Lockett, Linden High School; Sam Shade, Pinson Valley High School; Darrell Higgins, Mars Hill Bible School; Larry Strain, Handley High School; and Chris Metcalf, Minor High School (scout coach). Billy Odom, Ken Wright and Randy White are the administrative coaches.

Alabama knocked off Mississippi last December 19-7. The series started in 1988 with Alabama coming out on top in three overtimes 24-21. Alabama’s victory in last season’s contest improved their record to 23-11 overall. Mississippi has won all three games played in Mississippi (2015, 2017 and 2019). Alabama has a 23-8 edge in all games played in Alabama. 

The complete 2021 Alabama roster is listed below.

Chance DandridgeWinterboroAth
Jarell StinsonOpelikaDB
Rodney JohnsonGadsden CityDB
Jourdan ThomasMontgomery CatholicDB
Avery ThomasWetumpkaDB
Miguel MitchellOxfordDB
Tre'Quon FegansThompsonDB
Shemar JamesFaith AcademyDE
Powell GordonAuburnDE/LB
Taylor LoveOpelikaDE/LB
Jeremiah AlexanderThompsonDE/LB
Robert WoodyardWilliamsonDE/LB
Timothy SpurlockMadison AcademyDE/LB
Caden StoryLanettDL
Justice FinkleyHewitt-Trussville DL
Khurtiss PerryPike RoadDL
Trevon McAlpineSaralandDL
Antavious WoodyLaFayetteDL
Will SpainGordoDL
Alex McPhersonFort PaynePK
Jacob GalmicheDaphneOL
Caleb Newell PelhamOL
Lucas TaylorSt. Paul'sOL
Eston HarrisAuburnOL
Drew BoboAuburnOL
Jerido KentonNorthridgeOL
Edwin WatsonJames ClemensOL
Anez CooperPleasant GroveOL
Bennett MeredithHooverQB
Connor HarrellThompsonQB
Emmanuel HendersonGeneva CountyRB
Braylon McReynoldsMcGill-ToolenRB
Cooper WilsonSpanish FortRB
Kierstan RogersTheodoreRB
Harvey RayHomewoodTE
Marquavious White Clay-ChalkvilleWR
Kobe PrenticeCaleraWR
Omari KellyHewitt-TrussvilleWR
De'Andre ColemanHueytown WR
Jarel WilliamsonSaralandWR

Alabama Coaching Staff

Adrian AbramsMinorHead Coach
Sam AdamsOxfordAssistant
Aryvia HolmesMcAdoryAssistant
Chad EadsGardendaleAssistant
Travis LockettLindenAssistant
Sam ShadePinson ValleyAssistant
Darrell HigginsMars Hill BibleAssistant
Larry StrainHandleyAssistant
Chris MetcalfMinorScout Coach
Billy OdomAdministrative Coach
Ken WrightAdministrative Coach
Randy WhiteAdministrative Coach