Football squads announced for 63rd North-South All-Star Game

Game set for Dec. 17 at Mobile’s Hancock Whitney Stadium

Montgomery, AL – North-South all-star squads for the 63rd AHSAA North-South All-Star Football Game to be played at Mobile’s Hancock Whitney Stadium on Friday night, December 17, have been selected. The two 37-member teams comprised of 2021-2022 graduating seniors were announced by Brandon Dean, Director of the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association (AHSADCA), Wednesday, October 20. The game will kick off at 7 p.m. It will be televised live over the AHSAA TV Network and live-streamed over the NFHS Network. 

“We are grateful for the City (and County) of Mobile, the Mobile Sports Authority and the University of South Alabama for their continued interest and support of this all-star event,” said Dean. “Moving the game to December has re-energized this all-star classic and we look forward to another great week in Mobile with some of the best student-athletes in this state. We also thank our member schools for their unwavering support of this game.”

The 62nd annual AHSAA North-South All-Star Game won by the South 28-20 last December, was the first played at Mobile’s new Hancock Whitney Stadium at the University of South Alabama. From 2010-2019 the game was played at Montgomery’s Cramton Bowl as part of the AHSAA and AHSADCA All-Star Sports Week. The game was cancelled due to the COVID Pandemic in 2020 with the 2020-21 school year moved from the summer to December last year and enjoyed its first trip to Mobile.

The North-South Classic, the AHSAA’s oldest all-star event, was first played in 1948 at Tuscaloosa on the campus of the University of Alabama and remained at Bryant-Denny Stadium in the summer through 1984. A small-school all-star game was also held at Auburn in 1984. The game was discontinued from 1985-1996 but reinstated in 1997 when the AHSAA instituted All-Star Sports Week with the Summer Conference. It was played at Cramton Bowl from 1997-2004 and then moved to Troy University for two years and Huntsville’s Alabama A&M University from 2007-2010. It returned to Montgomery in 2011.

After last year’s win, the South holds a 32-27-2 lead in the series.

The AHSADCA, which operates under the auspices of the Alabama High School Athletic Association (AHSAA) still plays its other All-Star Games in boys’ and girls’ basketball, baseball, softball, boys’ and girls’ soccer, volleyball, boys’ and girls’ cross country, tennis and golf during All-Star Week held each July.

Head coach for the North All-Stars is Helena High School’s Richie Busby. His unbeaten Huskies (9-0) clinched the Class 6A, Region 3 title last week. He is currently in his fourth season at Helena. He is 29-13 overall with the Huskies and was 40-17 in five seasons from 2013-17 at Fultondale for a combined career record of 69-30.

South head coach is Jim Bob Striplin of Geneva County High School. His Bulldogs are 4-4 this season and are 32-30 overall during his tenure. He has been the head coach at the Hartford school since 2016 and spent six seasons as New Brockton head coach from 2008-2013. His overall coaching record is 63-63.

The North coaching staff also includes: Phil Phillips, Oneonta; Kelvis White, Bob Jones; Wade Waldrop, James Clemens; John Ritter, Russellville; Ryan Lock, Etowah; Bruce Breland, Victory Christian; and administrative coaches Ben Johnson, Scottsboro and Randy White, Athens (retired).

The South coaching staff includes: Jason Massey, Leroy; Brent Hubbert, T.R. Miller; Marcus Gardner, Carver-Montgomery; Brad Abbott, Maplesville; Jason Franklin, Holtville; Juan Williams, LaFayette; and administrative coaches Mark Heaton, Baldwin County and Lev Holly, Mobile County Schools.

Quarterbacks selected for the North are Tanner Bailey of Gordo and Zach Pyron of Pinson Valley. Both led their teams to state championship games last season. Gordo lost to Handley in the 4A state finals 35-20 while Pinson Valley beat Spanish Fort 23-13 in the 6A finals. Pyron also quarterback Fyffe to the 2A state title in 2019.

South quarterbacks selected are Walter Taylor of Jackson (7-2) and Iverson Hooks of Pike Road (8-0).  Both are having banner seasons for the Aggies and Patriots, respectively.

The complete rosters are listed below.

North All-Stars

Benny MalinAthGood Hope
Landon BallDBAliceville
D.J. DavenportDBBob Jones
Kobi AlbertDBFairfield
Shay'Nadd WinfieldDBOxford
Javion Belle-McCrayDBPickens County
Elijah HarnettDE/LBFlorence
Samuel HortonDE/LBGadsden City
Eli EnnisDE/LBOhatchee
Luke HodgeDE/LBOneonta
Jordan DobbinsDE/LBOxford
B.J. DiakiteDE/LBPinson Valley
Jax Van ZandtDE/LBThompson
Cedric Jackson IIDLBob Jones
Jacob McRaeDLDecatur
Jacob SanfordDLEtowah
Detrick JonesDLGrissom
Corey ClarkDLMinor
Collin JonesOLBob Jones
Nathan WrightOLGardendale
Gregory JoinerOLHandley
Kaden YoungOLMadison Academy
Malachi CarneyOLPleasant Grove
Cole HallOLThompson
Hoke SmithOLVestavia Hills
Braxton SumpterP/KSpain Park
Tanner BaileyQBGordo
Zach PyronQBPinson Valley
Makhi HughesRBHuffman
Will StokesRBMadison Academy
Collin MoonRBOneonta
Demarcus LaceyRBPleasant Grove
Jakobie HurleyTE/WRFlorence
Sawyern BurtTE/WRFort Payne
Cameron HarrisTE/WRPleasant Grove
Nathan BrockwayTE/WRRussellville
Ryan PeppinsTE/WRThompson

South All-Stars

Tiaquelin MimsAthBaldwin County
Jaylen NoblesAthSlocomb
Landry HuddlestonDBAlma Bryant
Nasir PogueDBAuburn
Laquan RobinsonDBGreenville
Jaden LawsonDBMobile Christian
Willie Butler Jr.DBSaraland
Chrystyile CaldwellDE/LBElba
Jacobn FosterDE/LBGreenville
Mikey ForneyDE/LBHoltville
Vinay SinghDE/LBLafayette
Javen AugustusDE/LBMontgomery Catholic
Gage MimsDE/LBT.R. Miller
Michael Courtney DE/LBUMS-Wright
James QuinnellyDLDaphne
Ronnie MageoDLFairhope
To'Mari VinsonDLPrattville
Javon HarrisDLPrattville
Keaton LawDLSaraland
Joseph Frazier Jr. OLAuburn
Bo BurksOL Bibb County
Derrick IngramOLCentral-Hayneville
Taylor HicksOLDaphne
Curtis PeaglerOLDemopolis
Logan LanicekOLFairhope
Ryan GorumOLSpanish Fort
Luke FreerP/KFairhope
Walter TaylorQBJackson
Iverson HooksQBPike Road
B.J. BakerRBLafayette
Dquez MaddenRBLanett
Quinshon Judkins RBPike Road
Jalyn DanielsRBTallassee
Camden EtheredgeTE/WRAuburn
Cam'ron WrightTE/WRDemopolis
Nikki TaylorTE/WRLuverne
Shawn JonesTE/WROpelika