Mountain Brook rolls past Muscle Shoals to advance to Class 6A title game

Muscle Shoals, AL – For the first time in 26 years Mountain Brook has advanced to the AHSAA state title game.  Chris Yeager’s 12-2 Spartans knocked off Muscle Shoals 28-7 in the Class 6A semifinals to advance to the Super 7 championships next week at Jordan-Hare Stadium.  

This will mark the Spartans’ fourth trip to the title game in the program’s 56 year history.  Mountain Brook claimed back-to-back state championships on the gridiron in 1975 and 1976.  

Muscle Shoals’ season comes to a close at 11-2.  Before falling to the Spartans, their lone defeat was a three point setback to Region 7 champion Hartselle.  

The Trojans lit up the J.F. Moore Stadium scoreboard early, marching 60 yards and scoring on a 24 yard touchdown toss from Seth Mosley to Bryant Basden on their first possession of the contest.  

The Spartans struck back as standout running back Cole Gamble bolted into the endzone from 35 yards out to tie the game at seven apiece late in the first period.  On Mountain Brook’s next possession Gamble found pay-dirt again diving in from just outside the Trojan one yard line.  Will Waldrop capped an impressive Spartan drive late in the second quarter with a 10 yard rushing score to put the visitors up 21-7 at the break.  

Mountain Brook head football coach Chris Yeager. Yeager is 145-60 in 17 seasons at the helm of the Spartans program. Brant Berry | PrepsNet

Gamble, who finished the night with 190 yards on 25 carries and three touchdowns, put the game on ice in the third scampering in from 12 yards out to cap the scoring at 28-7.   

Spartans signal caller John Colvin completed 9-of-15 passes for 148 yards.  Clark Sanderson lead the Spartan receiving corps with 84 yards on five receptions.  

Mountain Brook will take on the Saraland Spartans next Friday night at Auburn’s Jordan-Hare Stadium in the Class 6A state championship game.  Saraland comes into the title game at 13-1 with their only blemish being a one point road loss to Region 1 champion Theodore.