Busby named Helena Huskies head football coach

Helena, AL – The Shelby County School Board officially named Fultondale’s Richie Busby Helena High School’s second head football coach Thursday afternoon. 

“We are thrilled to have coach Busby join the Husky family.  He is a tremendous coach who brings the football experience, as well as the knowledge of building a successful program that we are looking for.  After a thorough selection process, it became clear that Coach Busby was the right choice for Helena High School.  We are excited to have him and excited about the future of Helena football.” Helena High Principal April Brand said in a statement released after Busby’s hiring.  

The University of Montevallo graduate replaces Watt Parker who has lead the Huskies program since it’s inception in 2014.  Parker posted an 18-25 record over four seasons, highlighted by a program best 9-3 record in 2015. 

The Huskies, who reached the playoffs in each of their first two seasons, are currently riding a three year postseason drought.  

Busby leaves Fultondale as one of the most successful head coaches in program history.  He lead the Wildcats to a 40-17 record including five consecutive postseason appearances and the school’s first undefeated regular season during his five year stint in North Jefferson County.  His 2017 squad set school records for points scored (527) and wins in a season (11).  

He spent two years at Bessemer Academy before joining the Fultondale High faculty in 2000.

Busby’s Fultondale squad ended 2017 as the number 4 ranked team in class 3A.  The Cats fell in the second round of the AHSAA playoffs to eventual state runner-up Randolph County.   He Huskies are coming off their most disappointing finish in their four year history, closing out 2017 at 1-9.  

2018 Coaching Changes

SchoolFormer CoachNew Coach
AlexandriaFrank TuckerTodd Ginn
AnnistonEddie BullockRico White
AppalachianZach JonesRobert Beard
ArabAdam GilbertOscar Glasscock
ArdmoreAndrew SmithP.J. Wright
AshfordMich SellersChris Littleton
AshvilleTrey PikeBarry Simmons
Barbour Co.Steve FryerHarry Mose
Benjamin RussellDanny HornKevin Smith
Bessemer CityQuintin JacksonDarone Fagan
B.B. ComerMike BattlesAdam Fossett
B.C. RainTellis StoneRick Cauley
BrantleyAshley KilcreaseRoland Jones Jr.
Carver-MontgomeryWillie SpearsJames Thompson
Center PointShawn GregoryGeorge Bates
ChelseaChris ElmoreDustin Goodwin
ChickasawJohn BeverlyJason Rowell
CitronelleRusty FunkJason Barnett
Clarke PrepBilly HamiltonJimmy Hicks
Central-Clay Co.Kris HerronDanny Horn
ClementsCody McCainMichael Parker
Coosa CentralShane RaryBrett Thomas
Cottage Hill ChristianDavid PeoplesChris Brazell
CornerZac WillisJohn Clements
CrossvilleMiles HolcombDusty Darnell
CullmanMark BrittonMatt Plunkett
Dale Co.Pete HarrisonDon Moore
Dallas Co.Cliff MatthewsZeke Pigg
DalevilleRob ArmstrongTrey Woolf
DanvilleJosh LouAllenShannon McGregory
DavidsonFred RileyShawn Smith
DothanKevin JacksonWayne White
East LawrenceJarrod HelmsMatthew Pettus
Edgewood AcademyEric FolmarRusty Mason
ElbaEd RigbyPete Harrison
Ellwood ChristianMike StokesMigeual Catlin
Elmore Co.Norman DeanJordan Cantrell
EufaulaBryan MooreEd Rigby
ExcelJason WamblesCody Sellers
Faith AcademyJeff EstesJack French
FlorenceJ.B. WallaceWill Hester
Fort PaynePaul EllisChris Elmore
FultondaleRichie BusbyDon Dover
GardendaleMatt PlunkettChad Eads
GlencoeRusty DavisBrian Alred
HancevilleCraig FaniganCody McCain
Hazel GreenWill WagnonSmitty Grider
HelenaWatt ParkerRichie Busby
Houston AcademyJimmy AddisonJamie Riggs
JasperHeath BrunnerBryan Moore
KeithHarry CrumAnthony Lumpkins
KinstonJohn CooperGeorge Kennedy
Lakeside SchoolJimmy KingDan Klages
Lee-HuntsvilleTony WoodsJerry Ross
LoachapokaAntonio RichardsL.C. Cole
Marengo AcademyLebo JonesDavid Akins
Mary MontgomeryChris WilsonStan McCain
McIntoshJerimie GatesRenard Davis
MinorCurtis GravesAdrian Abrams
Monroe Co.Juan WilliamsMarshall Locke
MoodyJay BrownAdam Wallace
New HopeKenny ChadwickBart Stephenson
Northside MethodistGeorge KennedyJason Hurst
OneontaBrandon HerringPhil Phillips
OpelikaCaleb RossErik Speakman
Park CrossingSmitty GriderAngelo Wheeler
Pell CityKeith EtheredgeWayne Lee
Pickens Co.Ryan SwinneyJames Thompson
Phil CampbellRyan SwinneyKevin Barnwell
PisgahAnthony JacksLuke Pruitt
PlainviewDustin GoodwinNick Ledbetter
Pleasant GroveJim ElginDarrell LeBeaux
PrattvilleChad AndersonCaleb Ross
PricevilleDirk StrunkJason Simmons
RaglandBrian AlredDerrick Sewell
RandolphNick FlanaganBlake Killen
RobertsdaleBrian CampbellChase Smith
RehobethFrankie ClarkDonny Gillan
RogersRandall MartinJerry Fulks
RussellvilleMark HeatonMark Ritter
SamsonChris LittletonJason Wambles
SatsumaJustin ThomasRay Nelson
Shoals ChristianPatrick MaloneNick Flanagan
Smiths StationAdam FossettMike Glisson
SoutheasternMichael BurkettKevin Byrd
SpringvilleSteve DavisMichael Graben
Springwood SchoolThomas HillJohn Gartman
Sumiton ChristianMike McCartyBart Black
TannerMaurice BelserOscar Bonds
T.R. MillerAndrew ThomasKeith Etheredge
Valley HeadBrian KnappHeath Vincent
WadleyKen FordhamJonathan Farr
West LimestoneJordan CantrellShelby Davis
West MorganJohn RitterMikel Riggs
WilsonScott BrownMatt Poarch
Winston Co.Bart Stephenson Mark Mitchell
WoodlawnGeorge BatesKarl Powe
VincentWiley McKellarLucas Weatherford