The Alabama Football Coaches Association Announces Coach of the Year and Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

Montgomery, AL – On Monday, the Alabama Football Coaches Association (AFCA) unveiled its Lifetime Achievement Award recipients along with the Coach and Assistant Coach of the Year for the 2023 season. The Lifetime Achievement Awards celebrate Alabama’s finest coaches, acknowledging their lifelong contributions to their players, fellow coaches, and local communities, and their dedication to Alabama football.

This year’s AFCA Lifetime Achievement recipients are former Decatur Red Raiders head coach Jere Adcock, Ronny Massey with affiliations to Thomasville, Citronelle, and Grissom, and Jimmy Perry of St. James, St. Paul’s, and Lee-Montgomery.

The head coaches who bagged the ALFCA Coach of the Year awards are:

7A | Josh Floyd – Hewitt-Trussville
6A | Drew Gilmer – Clay-Chalkville
5A | Jerrell Jernigan – Eufaula
4A | Lawrence O’Neal – Booker T. Washington
3A | Michael Davis – Geraldine
2A | Matt Johnson – Reeltown
1A | Jason Massey – Leroy

The Assistant Coach of the Year Awards were bestowed upon:

7A | Alex Page – Mary Montgomery
6A | Scott Glenn – Hueytown
5A | Matt Partridge – Springville
4A | Davey Mosley – Jackson
3A | Don Jacobs – Houston Academy
2A | Jerald Pike – B.B. Comer
1A | Daniel Green – Florala

The nomination process involved members of the ALFCA, followed by recommendations from a committee, and final selections by the ALFCA board of directors. The winners will be honored at the ALFCA Coach of the Year Luncheon on January 27, 2024, at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Montgomery.

Adcock spent 27 years on the Red Raiders sidelines, beginning as Steve Rivers’ assistant in 1994 and becoming Raiders’ head coach two years later. He boasts a 187-120 record with seven region championships at Decatur.

Massey, a native of Chatom, served as head coach at various schools and finished with a 189-143 record. His 1991 Citronelle squad is the only Wildcats team to complete an undefeated regular season, and his 2000 Grissom team set a record with 12 wins.

Meanwhile, Perry, an alumnus of Montgomery’s Robert E. Lee High School, worked as an assistant at Trinity Presbyterian before joining Spence McCracken at Lee in 1982. In 1995, he became head coach at Lee, and in 2022, his team at St. James won the Class 3A state title.  Perry also spent time as both the director of high school relations and director of football relations at Auburn University.  He posted a career record of 157-69 including a state championship and 10 region titles over 19 seasons as a head coach.  

Cover Photo: Clay-Chalkville head coach Drew Gilmer (Brant Berry | PrepsNet)

Leave a Reply