Tallassee Claims Class 5A South Section Wrestling Crown

MONTGOMERY – Tallassee’s Land Bell, McAdory’s Christian Griggs and Opelika’s Brady Campbell remained undefeated and won South Super Sectional individual titles on Saturday at Garrett Coliseum in Montgomery.

Bell (54-0) earned an 8-7 decision over Gulf Shores’ Charles Knight in the Class 5A 144-pound finale. He won the 132-pound title last season. Griggs (82-1) won the 175-pound title in Class 6A, after compiling an 81-1 record last year en route to winning the 160-pound crown. Campbell (48-0), the Class 7A champ at 145 pounds last year, won the South Super Section title at 157 pounds by pinning Daphne’s Owen Eiland in the championship match.

Two others also won South Super Section titles and stayed undefeated this season – Tallassee’s Ramon Lozada (40-0) at 120 pounds in Class 5A and Smiths Station’s Eli Sanders (42-0) at 113 pounds in Class 7A.

Oak Grove won the Class 1A-4A team title with 184.5 points, edging runner-up Montgomery Catholic with 175 points. Tallassee won in Class 5A, scoring 254.5 points to edge Gulf Shores with 244.5 points.

In Class 6A, Mountain Brook scored 286.5 points and Homewood was runner-up with 251.5 points. Smiths Station took home the team title in Class 7A with 216 points, followed by Opelika with 202 points and Daphne and Enterprise tied for third with 192.5 points apiece.


Class 1A-4A

106 pounds: Carter Driver (Ranburne) 33-8, Fr. over Noah Rains (St James) 33-6, Fr. (Dec 4-3)

113 pounds: David Hill (Oak Grove) 47-1, Fr. over Jack Galloway (American Christian Academy) 33-10, So. (Fall 2:31)

120 pounds: Drake Wood (Reeltown) 40-5, 8th. over Aiden Sumner (Oak Grove) 44-11, Jr. (Fall 1:30)

126 pounds: Hayden Scelson (Orange Beach High School) 26-11, Sr. over Maddux Murrill (Bayshore Christian School) 27-22, So. (Dec 2-0)

132 pounds: Brody Hayes (T.R. Miller) 44-1, Jr. over Logan Hartson (St James) 13-2, Sr. (SV-1 4-2)

138 pounds: Daymion Winfrey (Alabama School for the Blind) 35-4, Sr. over Angel Romero (Montevallo) 25-10, Sr. (Dec 12-5)

144 pounds: Austen Mayfield (Cleburne County) 54-1, Jr. over Dru Moore (Oak Grove) 48-11, Jr. (Fall 4:22)

150 pounds: Emmett Rasmussen (St James) 35-4, Sr. over Matthew Post (Prattville Christian Academy) 25-10, Sr. (Dec 3-0)

157 pounds: Elijah Thomas (Escambia County) 32-5, Sr. over Spencer Perkins (Prattville Christian Academy) 28-14, Jr. (Fall 1:29)

165 pounds: Pruitt Conner (St James) 28-4, Jr. over Drew Adams (Montevallo) 26-7, Fr. (Dec 7-6)

175 pounds: Zack Buchanan (Ranburne) 31-2, Sr. over Ryan Parker (Montgomery Catholic Prep School) 35-9, Sr. (Fall 4:41)

190 pounds: Charles Chappelle (Montgomery Catholic Prep School) 25-6, So. over John Bussey (Saks Sr) 24-7, Sr. (Fall 4:32)

215 pounds: Devin Bragg (Reeltown) 32-1, So. over Noah Breland (Bayside Academy) 30-4, So. (Dec 7-5)

285 pounds: Aidan Cockrell (Prattville Christian Academy) 34-2, Sr. over Zaden Benefield (Ranburne) 35-8, Jr. (Dec 3-0)

Class 5A

106 pounds: Mason Nelson (Tallassee) 46-5, Jr. over Abel Brantley (Gulf Shores) 48-10, Fr. (Fall 0:19)

113 pounds: Rhys Coulter (Gulf Shores) 56-12, Fr. over Thomas Patterson (Tallassee) 43-4, Fr. (SV-1 3-2)

120 pounds: Ramon Lozada (Tallassee) 40-0, Sr. over Hayden Cook (Gulf Shores) 61-14, So. (TF-1.5 4:00 (18-2)

126 pounds: Ethan Sharkey (Gulf Shores) 56-9, Sr. over Sequoah Hicks (John Carroll Catholic HS) 49-8, Jr. (Dec 6-3)

132 pounds: Nick Sykes (Shelby County) 53-2, Jr. over Noah Guthrie (Gulf Shores) 50-4, Sr. (Dec 3-1)

138 pounds: Taylor Cheek (Gulf Shores) 59-7, Sr. over Thomas `jay` Zito iii (John Carroll Catholic HS) 56-4, Sr. (Dec 9-5)

144 pounds: Land Bell (Tallassee) 54-0, Jr. over Charles Knight (Gulf Shores) 47-6, Jr. (Dec 8-7)

150 pounds: Tyler Payton (Elmore County School) 37-1, Fr. over Ethan Jones (Tallassee) 46-9, Sr. (Dec 8-2)

157 pounds: Tra`mel McCoy (Tallassee) 25-8, So. over Josh Lugo (Beauregard HS) 42-14, Sr. (Fall 2:28)

165 pounds: Xander Shook (Shelby County) 50-4, Jr. over Christian Mccary (Tallassee) 46-2, Sr. (M. For.)

175 pounds: Cole Sykes (Shelby County) 56-1, Sr. over Weston Reed (Gulf Shores) 61-10, Jr. (Fall 2:41)

190 pounds: Landon Everett (Gulf Shores) 48-4, So. over Nolan Addeo (Tallassee) 37-9, So. (Dec 7-4)

215 pounds: Keith Castleberry (Shelby County) 44-2, Sr. over Jude Rogers (Tallassee) 38-10, Jr. (Dec 6-2)

285 pounds: Christopher Eyerly (Elmore County School) 37-1, Sr. over Jaedon Hill (Elberta HS) 30-1, Sr. (Fall 5:48)

Class 6A

106 pounds: Justin Harbin (Brookwood Jr-Sr) 36-6, So. over Barrett Bridgmon (Homewood Hs) 49-7, Sr. (Dec 6-1)

113 pounds: John Duncan (Pike Road School) 45-2, Sr. over Bobby Rutkoff (Mountain Brook) 30-10, Jr. (MD 24-12)

120 pounds: Stephen Springfield (Mountain Brook) 28-5, Jr. over Swayze Martin (Wetumpka) 34-11, Fr. (MD 21-10)

126 pounds: Davis Smith (Mountain Brook) 32-3, Fr. over Jack Posey (Pike Road School) 27-12, Fr. (Fall 4:52)

132 pounds: Noah Smith (Wetumpka) 33-2, Sr. over Moeen Almansoob (Homewood Hs) 48-5, Sr. (Dec 4-2)

138 pounds: Buddy Ketcham (Homewood Hs) 24-4, Jr. over Myers Duncan (Pike Road School) 31-5, Jr. (For.)

144 pounds: James Alford (Helena) 20-5, So. over Jyque Norris (Benjamin Russell) 31-13, So. (Fall 1:37)

150 pounds: Thomas Peerson (Pelham) 27-2, Sr. over Bobby Chamorro (Homewood Hs) 26-2, Sr. (M. For.)

157 pounds: Cody Kirk (Pike Road School) 47-2, Jr. over Lanham Boyd (Homewood Hs) 12-6, Sr. (MD 13-1)

165 pounds: Stuart Andrews (Mountain Brook) 17-2, So. over Fernando Trejo (Homewood Hs) 28-8, Jr. (Fall 5:28)

175 pounds: Christion Griggs (McAdory) 82-1, Sr. over Mason Hussey (Pike Road School) 31-5, Jr. (MD 10-0)

190 pounds: Sam Carroll (Mountain Brook) 33-6, Sr. over Zach Crosthwait (Wetumpka) 28-2, Jr. (Dec 4-0)

215 pounds: Christian Preston (Wetumpka) 40-3, Sr. over Nicholas Brooks (Jackson-Olin HS) 35-9, Sr. (Dec 9-2)

285 pounds: Willie Cox (Wetumpka) 44-1, Sr. over Daniel Ellis (Mountain Brook) 15-4, Jr. (Dec 2-1)

Class 7A

106 pounds: Micah Swiger (Daphne) 41-6, So. over Phoenix Ayers (Central) 45-12, So. (Dec 9-5)

113 pounds: Eli Sanders (Smiths Station Hs) 42-0, Fr. over Paxton Hanshaw (Enterprise HS) 25-11, Jr. (For.)

120 pounds: John Adams (Auburn) 30-11, So. over Jackson Grant (Mary G Montgomery) 27-4, So. (Fall 1:17)

126 pounds: Kameron Stiffler (Enterprise HS) 37-3, Jr. over Logan Odom (Baker HS) 53-10, Sr. (Fall 2:53)

132 pounds: Timothy Luttrell (Smiths Station Hs) 42-9, Jr. over Gatlin Tate (Prattville) 41-8, Jr. (Dec 7-4)

138 pounds: Toby Hymel (Daphne) 13-1, Jr. over Brayden Wilson (Opelika Hs) 46-9, Sr. (Dec 8-4)

144 pounds: Denarvious Anderson (Opelika Hs) 46-8, Jr. over Greyson Scott (Prattville) 26-15, So. (For.)

150 pounds: Lemuel Lynon (Enterprise HS) 7-1, So. over Garrett Grimes (Baker HS) 39-17, Sr. (Fall 5:54)

157 pounds: Brady Campbell (Opelika Hs) 48-0, Jr. over Owen Eiland (Daphne) 37-7, Jr. (Fall 1:01)

165 pounds: Kody Sigmon (Enterprise HS) 30-6, Jr. over Darryl Honeycutt (Central) 53-11, Sr. (Dec 3-1)

175 pounds: Dalton Wainwright (Prattville) 43-5, Sr. over Jabari Thomas (Central) 41-13, Sr. (MD 16-5)

190 pounds: Jake McConnell (Prattville) 29-3, So. over Colton Rainer (Daphne) 44-8, Jr. (Fall 2:58)

215 pounds: Lance Peterson (Smiths Station Hs) 39-1, Sr. over Early Young (Davidson HS) 42-6, Jr. (MD 13-0)

285 pounds: Kyle Epperson (Opelika Hs) 39-9, Jr. over Kyle King (Auburn) 13-5, Jr. (Dec 6-1)

Cover Photo: Tallassee’s Land Bell (54-0) remained unbeaten winning the  Class 5A South Sectional 144-pound final match at Garrett Coliseum. The Tigers also won the 5A Super Section title. (AHSAA PHOTO | DAVID HOLTSFORD)

Leave a Reply